Fall 2021 Reopening Plans
We will reopen our campuses for classes, activities, and residential living in Fall 2021. Find the latest information on our Fall 2021 Plan page.

2021-2022 Academic Calendar

Select a topic to expand and display relevant dates. 

For official administrative staff holidays, please visit Human Resources' University Holidays calendar

The final exam period applies to the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (CLAS) and Lesley Center for the Adult Learner (LCAL) courses, as well as Art History in the College of Art & Design (LA+D). Graduate courses continue until the end of the semester.

2021-2022 Academic Calendar

Calendar content is subject to change. Please revisit the calendar before finalizing any plans.

  • 2021-2022 Semester/Term Start and End Dates
    Semester/Term Begins Ends
    Fall Semester Wednesday, September 8, 2021 Wednesday, December 22, 2021
    Fall Term 1 Tuesday, September 7, 2021 Sunday, October 31, 2021
    Fall Term 2 Monday, November 1, 2021 Thursday, December 23, 2021
    Spring Mini-Semester Monday, January 3, 2022 Sunday, January 23, 2022
    Spring Semester Monday, January 24, 2022 Friday, May 13, 2022
    Spring Term 1 Monday, January 24, 2022 Sunday, March 20, 2022
    Spring Term 2 Monday, March 21, 2022 Sunday, May 15, 2022
    Summer Session Wednesday, June 1, 2022 Sunday, August 21, 2022
    Summer Term 1 Monday, May 16, 2022 Sunday, July 10, 2022
    Summer Term 2 Monday, July 11, 2022 Sunday, September 4, 2022
  • Course Add/Drop Deadlines

    Fall '21 Add/Drop Deadlines

    Semester/Term Date(s)
    Fall Semester Tuesday, September 14, 2021
    Fall Term 1 Monday, September 13, 2021
    Fall Term 2 Sunday, November 7, 2021

     


     

    Spring '22 Add/Drop Deadlines

    Semester/Term Date(s)
    Spring Semester Sunday, January 30, 2022
    Spring Term 1 Sunday, January 30, 2022
    Spring Term 2 Sunday, March 27, 2022

     


     

    Summer '22 Add/Drop Deadlines

    Semester/Term Date(s)
    Summer Session Tuesday, June 7, 2022
    Summer Term 1 Sunday, May 22, 2022
    Summer Term 2 Sunday, July 17, 2022
  • Course Withdrawal (Drop with a W Grade) Deadlines

    Fall '21 Withdrawal Deadlines

    Semester/Term Deadline
    Fall Semester Wednesday, December 1, 2021
    Fall Term 1 Sunday, October 17, 2021
    Fall Term 2 Thursday, December 9, 2021

     


     

    Spring '22 Withdrawal Deadlines

    Semester/Term Deadline
    Spring Semester Friday, April 22, 2022
    Spring Term 1 Sunday, March 6, 2022
    Spring Term 2 Sunday, May 1, 2022

     


     

    Summer '22 Withdrawal Deadlines

    Semester/Term Deadline
    Summer Session Sunday, August 7, 2022
    Summer Term 1 Sunday, June 26, 2022
    Summer Term 2 Sunday, August 21, 2022
  • Exam Periods and Critiques
    Event Fall Date(s) Spring Date(s)
    Classes End for Undergraduate Students (CLAS and LA+D Art History) Tuesday, December 14, 2021 Friday, May 6, 2022
    Reading Day(s) for Undergraduate Students Wednesday, December 15, 2021 Saturday, May 7 - Sunday, May 8, 2022
    Final Examination Period for Undergraduates Thursday, December 16, 2021 -Wednesday, December 22, 2021 Monday, May 9, 2022 - Friday, May 13, 2022
    LA+D Departmental Juries and Critiques N/A Monday, May 9, 2022 - Friday, May 13, 2022
  • Grade Deadlines (Non-Graduating Students)

    (Consult "Graduation/Degree Conferral Dates" for grade deadlines for graduating students.)

    Fall '21 Grade Deadlines

    Semester/Term Deadline
    Fall Semester Friday, January 7, 2022
    Fall Term 1 Monday, November 15, 2021
    Fall Term 2 Friday, January 7, 2022

     


     

    Spring '22 Grade Deadlines

    Semester/Term Deadline
    January Mini-Semester Monday, February 7, 2022
    Spring Semester Saturday, May 28, 2022
    Spring Term 1 Monday, April 4, 2022
    Spring Term 2 Monday, May 30, 2022

     


     

    Summer '22 Grade Deadlines

    Semester/Term Deadline
    Summer Session Monday, September 5, 2022
    Summer Term 1 Monday, July 25, 2022
    Summer Term 2 Monday, September 19, 2022
  • Graduation/Degree Conferral Dates

    September '21 Conferral

    Event Date
    Intent Filing Deadline Thursday, July 1, 2021
    Grade/Completion Deadline (Graduating Students Only)      Monday, September 6, 2021
    Degree Conferral Wednesday, September 15, 2021

     


     

    January '22 Conferral

    Event Date
    Intent Filing Deadline Wednesday, September 15, 2021
    Grade/Completion Deadline (Graduating Students Only)            Saturday, January 8, 2022
    Degree Conferral Saturday, January 15, 2022

     


     

    May '22 Conferral (Commencement)

    Event Date
    Intent Filing Deadline Monday, January 31, 2022
    Grade/Completion Deadline (Graduating Students Only)                 Monday, May 16, 2022 (Noon)
    Degree Conferral (Commencement) Saturday, May 21, 2022
  • Holidays and Breaks

    For official administrative staff holidays, please visit Human Resources' University Holidays calendar.

    Fall '21

    Event Date(s)
    Labor Day Monday, September 6, 2021
    Indigenous People's Day Monday, October 11, 2021
    Veterans Day Thursday, November 11, 2021
    Student Thanksgiving Break 1 Wednesday, November 24 - Sunday, November 28, 2021 1
    Student Winter Break 2 Thursday, December 23, 2021 - Sunday, January 2, 2022 2

    1 Student Thanksgiving Break 2021: No classes from Wednesday, 11/24 through Sunday, 11/28 (Administrative offices close at 12:00 pm on Wednesday, November 24, 2021).

    2 Student Winter Break 2021: The Fall Semester ends on Wednesday, 12/22, but Fall Term 2 ends on Thursday, 12/23. Some Fall Term 2 classes may meet on 12/23. (For administrative staff operational dates, visit Human Resources' University Holidays calendar at: https://lesley.edu/faculty-staff/human-resources/university-holidays).

     


     

    Spring '22

    Event Date(s)
    Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 17, 2022
    Spring Student Vacation Monday, March 14 - Sunday, March 20, 2022
    Patriots Day Monday, April 18, 2022

     


     

    Summer '22

    Event Date(s)
    Memorial Day Monday, May 30, 2022
    Juneteenth (Observed) Friday, June 17, 2022 
    Independence Day Monday, July 4, 2022
  • Housing Dates

    College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (CLAS) and College of Art & Design (LA + D)

    Event Date(s)
    Residence halls open for new students for Fall 2021: CLAS and LA+D Sunday, September 5, 2021
    Residence halls open for returning students at 10:00 am for Fall 2021: CLAS and LA+D Monday, September 6, 2021
    CLAS and LA+D residence halls close at 10:00 am for Thanksgiving Recess Wednesday, November 24, 2021
    Residence halls reopen at noon (Thanksgiving Recess) Sunday, November 28, 2021
    CLAS and LA+D residence halls close at 10:00 am for Winter Break Thursday, December 23, 2021
    Residence halls open for new students for Spring 2022: CLAS, LA+D Thursday, January 20, 2022
    Residence halls open at noon for returning students for Spring 2022: CLAS, LA+D, and Threshold     Sunday, January 23, 2022
    Designated CLAS and LA+D residence halls close at 6:00 pm for Spring Student Vacation Friday, March 11, 2022
    CLAS and LA+D residence halls reopen at 10:00 am (Spring Student Vacation) Sunday, March 20, 2022
    CLAS and LA+D residence halls close at 8:00 pm for Spring 2022 (except graduating seniors)  Friday, May 13, 2022
    CLAS and LA+D residence halls close at noon for graduating students for Spring 2022 Sunday, May 22, 2022
    Summer housing program begins at noon Wednesday, June 1, 2022
    Residence halls close for students taking Lesley summer courses Sunday, August 21, 2022

     


     

    Threshold

    Event Date(s)
    Threshold residence halls open Tuesday, September 7, 2021
    Threshold residence halls close at 2:00 pm for Threshold Program Recess  Tuesday, November 23, 2021
    Threshold residence halls reopen at noon (Threshold Program Recess) Sunday, November 28, 2021
    Threshold residence halls close at 5:00 pm (Threshold Winter Break) Friday, December 17, 2021
    Threshold residence halls open at noon for returning students for Spring 2022 Sunday, January 23, 2022
    Threshold residence halls close at 5:00 pm for Spring Student Vacation Friday, March 11, 2022
    Threshold residence halls reopen at 12:00 pm (Spring Student Vacation) Sunday, March 20, 2022
    Threshold residence halls close at noon (except for graduating students) Saturday, May 14, 2022
    Threshold residence halls close at 5:00 pm (Threshold Transition Seminar) Thursday, May 26, 2022
  • Residencies and Special Events
    Event Date(s)
    MFA Creative Writing Residency (January 2022)  Friday, January 7 - Saturday, January 15, 2022
    MFA Visual Arts Residency (January 2022)   Friday, January 7 - Sunday, January 16, 2022 (Orientation January 6)
    Mindfulness Studies Residency Monday, January 10 - Sunday, January 16, 2022
    Community of Scholars Day Wednesday, March 30, 2022
    MFA Creative Writing Residency (June 2022) Friday, June 17 - Saturday, June 25, 2022
    MFA Visual Arts Residency (June 2022) Friday, June 17 - Sunday, June 26, 2022 (Orientation June 16)
  • Threshold Dates

    For the Threshold Program holiday and break schedule, please consult the "Holidays and Breaks" section above.

    Start & End Dates, Recess, and Graduation

    Event Date(s)
    Threshold Orientation begins Wednesday, September 8, 2021
    Threshold fall classes begin Thursday, September 9, 2021
    Threshold Program Recess (no classes; residence halls close at 2:00 pm on 11/23) Tuesday, November 23, 2021
    Threshold fall classes end at 2:00 pm (residence halls close at 5:00 pm) Friday, December 17, 2021
    Threshold spring classes begin Monday, January 24, 2022
    Last day of Threshold classes Friday, May 13, 2022
    Threshold Graduation Saturday, May 21, 2022
    Threshold Transition Seminar (residence halls close at 5:00 pm on 5/26) Sunday, May 22 - Thursday, May 26, 2022 

     


     

    Housing

    Event Date(s)
    Threshold residence halls open Tuesday, September 7, 2021
    Threshold residence halls close at 2:00 pm for Threshold Program Recess  Tuesday, November 23, 2021
    Threshold residence halls reopen at noon (Threshold Program Recess) Sunday, November 28, 2021
    Threshold residence halls close at 5:00 pm (Threshold Winter Break) Friday, December 17, 2021
    Threshold residence halls open at noon for returning students for Spring 2022 Sunday, January 23, 2022
    Threshold residence halls close at 5:00 pm for Spring Student Vacation Friday, March 11, 2022
    Threshold residence halls reopen at 12:00 pm (Spring Student Vacation) Sunday, March 20, 2022
    Threshold residence halls close at noon (except for graduating students) Saturday, May 14, 2022
    Threshold residence halls close at 5:00 pm (Threshold Transition Seminar) Thursday, May 26, 2022
  • Tuition Deadlines
  • WebReg Start Dates

    Fall '21

    Event Date(s)
    GRAD/LCAL/Online Tuesday, April 6, 2021
    CLAS/LA+D (Rising Seniors) Tuesday, April 13, 2021
    CLAS/LA+D (Rising Juniors) Wednesday, April 14, 2021
    CLAS/LA+D (Rising Sophomores) Thursday, April 15, 2021

     


     

    Spring '22

    Event Date(s)
    GRAD/LCAL/Online Tuesday, October 19, 2021
    CLAS/LA+D (Seniors) Tuesday, October 26, 2021
    CLAS/LA+D (Juniors) Wednesday, October 27, 2021
    CLAS/LA+D (Sophomores) Thursday, October 28, 2021
    CLAS/LA+D (First-Year Students) Friday, October 29, 2021

     


     

    Summer '22

    Event Date(s)
    GRAD/LCAL/Online Tuesday, March 22, 2022
    CLAS/LA+D (All Students) Tuesday, March 22, 2022