Fall 2021 Reopening Plans
We will reopen our campuses for classes, activities, and residential living in Fall 2021. Find the latest information on our Fall 2021 Plan page.

2020-2021 Academic Calendar

Select a topic to expand and display relevant dates. For official administrative staff holidays, please visit Human Resources' University Holidays calendar. 

The final exam period applies to College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (CLAS) and Lesley Center for the Adult Learner (LCAL) courses, as well as Art History in the College of Art & Design (LA+D). Graduate courses continue until the end of the semester.

2020-2021 Academic Calendar

Calendar content is subject to change. Please revisit the calendar before finalizing any plans.

  • 2020-2021 Semester + Term Start and End Dates
    Term  Begins Ends
    Fall Wednesday, September 9, 2020 Tuesday, December 22, 2020
    Fall 1 Tuesday, September 8, 2020 Sunday, November 1, 2020
    Fall 2 Monday, November 2, 2020 Wednesday, December 23, 2020
    Spring Mini           Monday, January 4, 2021 Sunday, January 24, 2021
    Spring Monday, January 25, 2021 Friday, May 14, 2021
    Spring 1 Monday, January 25, 2021 Sunday, March 21, 2021
    Spring 2 Monday, March 22, 2021 Sunday, May 16, 2021
    Summer Tuesday, June 1, 2021 Sunday, August 22, 2021
    Summer 1 Monday, May 17, 2021 Sunday, July 11, 2021
    Summer 2 Monday, July 12, 2021 Sunday, September 5, 2021
  • Add/Drop + Withdrawal Deadlines; Registration Start Dates

    Fall 2020

    Event Date
    Graduate & LCAL WebReg Begins Tuesday, March 24, 2020
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 1 (Rising Seniors) Tuesday, March 31, 2020
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 2 (Rising Juniors) Wednesday, April 1, 2020
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 3 (Rising Sophomores)  Thursday, April 2, 2020
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 4 N/A
    Walk-In/Mail-In Registration Begins Monday, April 6, 2020
    Add/Drop Deadline; WebReg Ends (Policy Updated: 02/26/2020)  Tuesday, September 15, 2020
    Withdrawal ("Drop with a W") Deadline (Updated: 06/22/2020) Wednesday, December 2, 2020  

    Fall 2020 Term 1

    Event Date
    Graduate & LCAL WebReg Begins Tuesday, March 24, 2020
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 1 (Rising Seniors) Tuesday, March 31, 2020
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 2 (Rising Juniors) Wednesday, April 1, 2020
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 3 (Rising Sophomores)  Thursday, April 2, 2020
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 4 N/A
    Walk-In/Mail-In Registration Begins Monday, April 6, 2020
    Add/Drop Deadline; WebReg Ends  Monday, September 14, 2020
    Withdrawal ("Drop with a W") Deadline (Updated: 06/22/2020) Sunday, October 18, 2020             

    Fall 2020 Term 2

    Event Date
    Graduate & LCAL WebReg Begins Tuesday, March 24, 2020
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 1 (Rising Seniors)  Tuesday, March 31, 2020
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 2 (Rising Juniors)  Wednesday, April 1, 2020
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 3 (Rising Sophomores)  Thursday, April 2, 2020
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 4 N/A
    Walk-In/Mail-In Registration Begins Monday, April 6, 2020
    Add/Drop Deadline; WebReg Ends  Sunday, November 8, 2020
    Withdrawal ("Drop with a W") Deadline (Updated: 06/22/2020) Wednesday, December 9, 2020     

    Spring 2021

    Event Date
    Graduate & LCAL WebReg Begins Tuesday, October 20, 2020                      
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 1 (Seniors)  Tuesday, October 27, 2020
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 2 (Juniors)  Wednesday, October 28, 2020
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 3 (Sophomores)  Thursday, October 29, 2020
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 4 (First-Year Students)  Friday, October 30, 2020
    Walk-In/Mail-In Registration Begins Monday, November 2, 2020
    Add/Drop Deadline; WebReg Ends (Policy Updated: 02/26/2020) Sunday, January 31, 2021
    Withdrawal ("Drop with a W") Deadline 

    (Updated: 06/22/2020)

    Friday, April 23, 2021

    Spring 2021 Term 1

    Event  Date
    Graduate & LCAL WebReg Begins Tuesday, October 20, 2020                      
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 1 (Seniors)  Tuesday, October 27, 2020
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 2 (Juniors)  Wednesday, October 28, 2020
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 3 (Sophomores)  Thursday, October 29, 2020
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 4 (First-Year Students) Friday, October 30, 2020
    Walk-In/Mail-In Registration Begins Monday, November 2, 2020
    Add/Drop Deadline; WebReg Ends  Sunday, January 31, 2021
    Withdrawal ("Drop with a W") Deadline 

    (Updated: 06/22/2020)

    Sunday, March 7, 2021

    Spring 2021 Term 2

    Event Date
    Graduate & LCAL WebReg Begins Tuesday, October 20, 2020
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 1 (Seniors)  Tuesday, October 27, 2020
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 2 (Juniors) Wednesday, October 28, 2020                 
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 3 (Sophomores)  Thursday, October 29, 2020
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 4 (First-Year Students) Friday, October 30, 2020
    Walk-In/Mail-In Registration Begins Monday, November 2, 2020
    Add/Drop Deadline; WebReg Ends  Sunday, March 28, 2021
    Withdrawal ("Drop with a W") Deadline 

    (Updated: 06/22/2020)

    Sunday, May 2, 2021

    Summer 2021

    Event Date
    Graduate & LCAL WebReg Begins (All Students)  Tuesday, March 23, 2021
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 1 See above
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 2 See above
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 3 See above
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 4 See above
    Walk-In/Mail-In Registration Begins Tuesday, March 30, 2021                     
    Add/Drop Deadline; WebReg Ends (Policy Updated: 02/26/2020) Monday, June 7, 2021
    Withdrawal ("Drop with a W") Deadline 

    (Updated: 06/22/2020)

    Sunday, August 8, 2021

    Summer 2021 Term 1

    Event Date
    Graduate & LCAL WebReg Begins (All Students)  Tuesday, March 23, 2021
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 1 See above
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 2 See above
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 3 See above
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 4 See above
    Walk-In/Mail-In Registration Begins Tuesday, March 30, 2021                     
    Add/Drop Deadline; WebReg Ends  Sunday, May 23, 2021
    Withdrawal ("Drop with a W") Deadline 

    (Updated: 06/22/2020)

    Sunday, June 27, 2021

    Summer 2021 Term 2

    Event Date
    Graduate & LCAL WebReg Begins (All Students)  Tuesday, March 23, 2021                     
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 1 See above
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 2 See above
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 3 See above
    Undergraduate WebReg, Day 4 See above
    Walk-In/Mail-In Registration Begins Tuesday, March 30, 2021
    Add/Drop Deadline; WebReg Ends Sunday, July 18, 2021
    Withdrawal ("Drop with a W") Deadline 

    (Updated: 06/22/2020)

    Sunday, August 22, 2021

    (Fall 2021 WebReg begins for Grad/LCAL/online undergraduate programs on Tuesday, April 6, 2021. CLAS/LA+D registration start dates will be April 13 [Rising Seniors], 14 [Rising Juniors], and 15 [Rising Sophomores]. This is a change from what was originally posted on the 2020-2021 Academic Calendar to allow for additional fall planning.) - Updated: 03/23/21

  • Exam Periods and Critiques

    Please note: Per the University's Remote Operations Guidance, exams will be taken online.


    Event Fall Date(s) Spring Date(s)
    Classes End for Undergraduate Students Tuesday, December 15, 2020 (except LA+D studio courses) Friday, May 7, 2021
    Reading Day(s) for Undergraduate Students N/A Saturday, May 8 - Sunday, May 9, 2021
    Final Examination Week for Undergraduates Wednesday, December 16, 2020 - Tuesday, December 22, 2020 Monday, May 10, 2021 - Friday, May 14, 2021
    LA+D Foundation Year Critiques N/A Monday, May 10, 2021 - Tuesday, May 11, 2021
    LA+D Departmental Juries and Critiques N/A Monday, May 10, 2021 - Friday, May 14, 2021
  • Grade Deadlines (Non-Graduating Students)

    (See "Graduation/Degree Conferral Dates" below for grade deadlines for graduating students)

    Semester/Term Date
    Fall 2020 Semester Friday, January 8, 2021
    Fall 2020 Term 1 Monday, November 16, 2020
    Fall 2020 Term 2 Friday, January 8, 2021
    January 2021 Mini-Semester          Monday, February 8, 2021
    Spring 2021 Semester Saturday, May 29, 2021
    Spring 2021 Term 1 Monday, April 5, 2021
    Spring 2021 Term 2 Monday, May 31, 2021
    Summer 2021 Semester Monday, September 6, 2021
    Summer 2021 Term 1 Monday, July 26, 2021
    Summer 2021 Term 2 Monday, September 20, 2021
  • Graduation/Degree Conferral Dates

    September Conferral (updated)

    Event Date
    Intent Filing Deadline Wednesday, July 1, 2020            
    Grade/Completion Deadline (Graduating Students Only)      Monday, September 7, 2020
    Degree Conferral Tuesday, September 15, 2020                       

    January Conferral (updated)

    Event Date
    Intent Filing Deadline Tuesday, September 15, 2020
    Grade/Completion Deadline (Graduating Students Only)            Friday, January 8, 2021
    Degree Conferral Friday, January 15, 2021             

    May Conferral - Commencement (updated)

    Event Date
    Intent Filing Deadline Sunday, January 31, 2021
    Grade/Completion Deadline (Graduating Students Only) (Noon)                     Monday, May 17, 2021
    Degree Conferral (Commencement) Saturday, May 22, 2021
  • Holidays and Breaks

    (For official administrative staff holidays, please visit Human Resources' University Holidays calendar.)

    Holiday Date(s)
    Labor Day Monday, September 7, 2020
    Indigenous Peoples' Day Monday, October 12, 2020
    Election Day (updated: 10/22/20) Tuesday, November 3, 2020
    Veterans Day Wednesday, November 11, 2020
    Thanksgiving Break 1 Wednesday, November 25 - Sunday, November 29, 2020
    Winter Break 2 Wednesday, December 23, 2020 - Friday, January 1, 2021
    Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 18, 2021
    Presidents' Day Weekend (updated: 08/18/20)  Friday, February 12 - Monday, February 15, 2021
    March Recess (updated: 08/18/20) Wednesday, March 17 - Thursday, March 18, 2021 
    Patriots' Day Weekend (updated: 08/18/20) Friday, April 16 - Monday, April 19, 2021
    Memorial Day Monday, May 31, 2021
    Juneteenth (Observed) Friday, June 18, 2021
    Independence Day (Observed) Monday, July 5, 2021

    1Thanksgiving Break 2020: No classes from Wednesday, 11/25 through Sunday, 11/29. Administrative offices close at 12:00 pm on Wednesday, November 25, 2020.

    2 Winter Break 2020: The fall semester ends on Tuesday, 12/22 and fall term 2 ends on Wednesday, 12/23. For administrative staff operational dates, see the Human Resources' University Holidays calendar at: https://lesley.edu/faculty-staff/human-resources/university-holidays.

     

  • Residence Hall Move-In and Move-Out Dates

    Please note: Dates below were published before the University's COVID-19 response. For up-to-date information, please refer to Lesley's Remote Operations Guidance page at lesley.edu/covid-19.


    Event Date(s)

    Residence halls open for new students for Fall 2020: CLAS and LA+D

    Sunday, September 6, 2020

    Residence halls open for returning students at 10:00 AM for Fall 2020: CLAS and LA+D

    Monday, September 7, 2020

    Threshold residence halls open Tuesday, September 8, 2020
    Threshold residence halls close at 2:00 PM for Threshold Program Recess  Tuesday, November 24, 2020

    CLAS and LA+D residence halls close at 10:00 AM for Thanksgiving Recess

    Wednesday, November 25, 2020

    Residence halls reopen at noon (Thanksgiving Recess)

    Sunday, November 29, 2020

    Residence halls reopen at noon (Threshold Program Recess) Sunday, November 29, 2020
    Threshold residence halls close at 5:00 PM (Threshold Winter Break) Friday, December 18, 2020

    CLAS and LA+D residence halls close at 10:00 AM for Winter Break

    Wednesday, December 23, 2020

    Residence halls open for new students for Spring 2021: CLAS, LA+D

    Thursday, January 21, 2021

    Residence halls open at noon for returning students for Spring 2021: CLAS, LA+D, and Threshold    

    Sunday, January 24, 2021

    Threshold residence halls close at 5:00 PM for Spring Student Vacation Friday, March 12, 2021

    Designated CLAS and LA+D residence halls close at 6:00 PM for Spring Student Vacation

    Friday, March 12, 2021

    CLAS and LA+D residence halls reopen at 10:00 AM (Spring Student Vacation) Sunday, March 21, 2021

    Threshold residence halls reopen at 12:00 PM (Spring Student Vacation)

    Sunday, March 21, 2021

    CLAS and LA+D residence halls close at 8:00 PM for Spring 2021 (except graduating seniors) 

    Friday, May 14, 2021

    Threshold residence halls close at noon (except for graduating students) Saturday, May 15, 2021

    CLAS and LA+D residence halls close at noon for graduating students for Spring 2021

    Sunday, May 23, 2021

    Threshold residence halls close at 5:00 PM (Threshold Transition Seminar) Thursday, May 27, 2021

    Summer housing program begins at noon

    Sunday, May 30, 2021

    Residence halls close for students taking Lesley summer courses

    Sunday, August 22, 2021

  • Special Events and Residencies
    Event Date(s)
    Community of Scholars Day Wednesday, March 31, 2021
    MFA Visual Arts Residency (January 2021)   Friday, January 8, 2021 - Sunday, January 17, 2021 (Orientation January 7)
    MFA Visual Arts Residency (June 2021) Friday, June 18, 2021 - Sunday, June 27, 2021 (Orientation June 17)
    MFA Creative Writing Residency (January 2021)  Friday, January 8, 2021 - Saturday, January 16, 2021
    MFA Creative Writing Residency (January 2021) Friday, June 18, 2021 - Saturday, June 26, 2021
    MA/PhD Expressive Therapies Residency     Sunday, July 11, 2021 - Friday, July 30, 2021      
    PhD Educational Studies Residency Saturday, July 17 - Sunday, July 25, 2021
    Mindfulness Studies Residency Monday, January 11 - Sunday, January 17, 2021

     

  • Threshold Program Dates

    Please note: Dates below were published before the University's COVID-19 response. For up-to-date information, please refer to Lesley's Remote Operations Guidance page at lesley.edu/covid-19.


    (For Threshold residence hall dates, you may also view the "Residence Hall Move-In and Move-Out Dates" section.)

    Event Date(s)

    Threshold residence halls open

    Tuesday, September 8, 2020

    Threshold orientation begins

    Wednesday, September 9, 2020

    Threshold classes begin

    Thursday, September 10, 2020

    Threshold Program Recess (no classes, Threshold residence halls close at 2:00 PM on 11/24)

    Tuesday, November 24 - Sunday, November 29, 2020

    Residence halls reopen at noon

    Sunday, November 29, 2020

    Threshold classes end

    Friday, December 18, 2020

    Threshold residence halls close at 5:00 PM

    Friday, December 18, 2020

    Residence halls open at noon for returning students: CLAS, LA+D, and Threshold

    Sunday, January 24, 2021

    Spring classes begin: CLAS, LA+D, Threshold, LCAL, GSASS and GSOE; registration continues; payment required; late fees apply

    Monday, January 25, 2021

    Threshold residence halls close at 5:00 PM (Spring Student Vacation)

    Friday, March 12, 2021

    Threshold residence halls reopen at 12:00 PM (Spring Student Vacation)

    Sunday, March 21, 2021

    Last day of Threshold Classes

    Friday, May 14, 2021

    Threshold residence halls close at noon (except for graduating students)

    Saturday, May 15, 2021

    Threshold Graduation

    Friday, May 21, 2021

    Threshold Transition Seminar (residence halls close at 5:00 PM on 5/27)

    Sunday, May 23 - Thursday, May 27, 2021

  • Tuition Deadlines